LLPH Vote Review: Senate Vote on Internet Sales Tax May 6, 2013



On May 6, 2013, the Senate voted in favor of instituting a national internet sales tax by a vote of 69 yeas to 27 nays. Campaign for Liberty explained brilliantly why is is wrong by saying:

The bill [S. 743, the misnamed “Marketplace Fairness Act ] authorizes states to “require all sellers not qualifying for the small seller exception [$1 million in sales or less] to collect and remit sales and use taxes with respect to remote sales sourced to that Member State.” Yet “sellers” and “sales” are never specifically defined, and there are no specific exemptions for certain types of products or services.

There are many more reasons why this bill is wrong, but the main reason is that it allows states to tax out-of-state businesses online. We thank the 27 members who voted against this bill…both liberals and conservatives joined together opposing it:

Senator Kelly Ayotte (R-NH), John Barrasso (R-WY), Max Baucus (D-MT), Tom Coburn (R-OK), Mike Crapo (R-ID), Ted Cruz (R-TX), Jeff Flake (R-AZ), Chuck Grassley (R-IA), Orrin Hatch (R-UT), Dean Heller (R-NV), James Inhofe (R-OK), Ron Johnson (R-WI), Mark Kirk (R-IL), Mike Lee (R-UT), Mitch McConnell (R-KY), Jeff Merkley (D-OR), Lisa Murkowski (R-AK), Rand Paul (R-KY), Jim Risch (R-ID), Pat Roberts (R-KS), Marco Rubio (R-FL), Tim Scott (R-SC), Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), Jon Tester (D-MT), Pat Toomey (R-PA), David Vitter (R-LA), and Ron Wyden (D-OR). 

Here’s the roll call vote:

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s